

## **BC ASSEMBLY OF FIRST NATIONS**

1004 Landooz Road Prince George, BC V2K 5S3 Website: www.bcafn.ca

BCAFN SPECIAL CHIEFS ASSEMBLY March 7 & 8, 2024 Online via Zoom Resolution 11/2024

SORJECT:	GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES
MOVED BY:	KUKPI7 ROSANNE CASIMIR, TK'EMLUPS TE SEWEPEMC
SECONDED BY:	CHIEF LYNDA PRICE, ULKATCHO FIRST NATION

## WHEREAS:

**DECISION:** 

CLIBIECT.

- A. Article 9 of the BCAFN Bylaws establishes the Governance Committee as a standing committee comprised of six (6) individuals all of whom must be member delegates, with an equal number of women and men, and a mix that reflects regional diversity.
- B. The primary function of the Governance Committee is to periodically review and recommend amendments to the Bylaws and Governance Manual, and to consider and advise the Board on governance matters referred to it. In addition, the Governance Committee could be called on to investigate and make recommendations to the Chiefs-in-Assembly if a complaint were ever to be made involving the conduct of the Regional Chief.
- C. It is expected that the Governance Committee will meet 3 to 5 times per year.
- D. At the Annual General Meeting on September 19-21, 2023, the Chiefs-in-Assembly adopted Resolution 29/2023 that ratified the Governance Committee's current terms of reference (the

Certified copy of a resolution adopted on the 8th day of March 2024

**CARRIED** 

**Terry Teegee, BC Regional Chief** 

"Terms of Reference") and appointed the following four (4) individuals to serve until the close of the AGM in 2026 (the "2023-2026 Governance Committee"), leaving two vacant positions:

- (i) Chief Ken Watts;
- (ii) Chief Jerry Jack;
- (iii) Chief Victor Issac; and
- (iv) Chief Sid Scotchman.
- E. In accordance with section 5.5 of the Terms of Reference, the Chiefs-in-Assembly may by ordinary resolution appoint member delegates to fill the two vacancies, to serve on the Committee until the close of the AGM in 2026.

## THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

- 1. the following individuals are appointed to the 2023-2026 Governance Committee, to serve until the close of the Annual General Meeting in 2026:
  - a. Chief Judi Thomas; and
  - b. Chief Keith Crow.

Certified copy of a resolution adopted on the 8th day of March 2024

**Terry Teegee, BC Regional Chief**